The CTIF Executive Committee as of July 2019.
19 Sep 2019

Meet the new CTIF Executive Committee from Delegates´Assembly in Martigny




Smiling man

Tore Eriksson, President of CTIF since 2012


Former Division Chief at the Swedish Civil Contingencies Agency., formerly Swedish Rescue Services Agency. ( Mr Eriksson has previously also been engaged in the HazMat Commission, as a delegate and as Chair.

Mr Eriksson was first elected Vice President of CTIF before being elected President in 2012. He will continue to serve his full two terms until Delegates Assembly in Germany, June 2020.


Roman Sykora, General Secretary of CTIF since July 2019.Roman Sykora, General Secretary of CTIF since 2019


Mr Sykora is from the professional fire department, Vienna (Austria).

He also serves as the chair of the CTIF Hazardous Materials Commission.


Mark Mamer, Treasurer of CTIF since 2017.Marc Mamer, Treasurer of CTIF since 2017


Head of the Fédération Nationale des Corps de Sapeurs-Pompiers, du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, i.e. the Voluntary Firefighters´ Association of Luxemburg.


Neza StrmoleNeza Strmole, CTIF Office Secretary since 2017

Slovenia CTIF Office

Neza is a voluntary firefighter in her hometown in Slovenia and works for the Firefighters´Association of Slovenia.

Neza is the main contact person for anyone wishing to get in touch with CTIF or any of our members. You can reach Ms Strmole through our CTIF office in Ljubljana.


Cover Photo: (Above) The New CTIF Executive Committee, as elected (or continuing their terms) on July 19, 2019.

Current Vice Presidents and other members of the Executive Committee:

Milan Dubravac, Vice President of CTIFMilan Dubravac, Vice President since 2015


Admin for civil protection and disaster relief, Head of the Slovenian National Fire-fighting School.

Mr Dubravac also serves on the CTIF Commission for Firefighting at Airports.

Ole Hansen, vice President of CTIF from 2015.Ole Hansen, Vice president of CTIF since 2015


Chair of the National CTIF Committee of Norway. 

Mr Hansen is also the contact person for Associate Members and other companies wishing to sponsor CTIF events and publications.

Also a member and former chair of the CTIF Commission for Firefighting at Airports and the newly formed CTIF Tunnel Fire Fighting Working Group.


Zdenek Nytra, Vice President of CTIF since 2015.Zdenek Nytra, Vice President of CTIF since 2015

Czech Republic

Chair of the National CTIF Committee of Czech Republic, Fire Services of Prague.

Also a member of the CTIF Commission for Youth Games.


Hubert VetterHubert Vetter, Vice President of CTIF since 2015


President of the Firefighters Association Vorarlberg.

Mr Vetter also serves on the CTIF Commission for Voluntary Firefighters.


Hartmut ZiebsHartmut Ziebs, Vice President of CTIF since 2019


Mr Ziebs is the president of the German Fire Services Association (DFV).



Dr Lászlo Bérczi, vice president of CTIF since 2019.Dr. László Bérczi, BG, Vice President of CTIF since 2019


National Directorate General for Disaster Management, MoI, Hungary.

Dr Bérczi also serves as Chair of the CTIF Fire Investigation Working Group (from 2017);

He is also National Inspector General for the Fire Services of Hungary.


Dennis Davis, special project adviser for the CTIF EC.Dennis Davis, Senior Adviser to the CTIF Executive Committee

United Kingdom

Mr Davis has an extensive fire and rescue service background, and is an independent international fire and civil protection adviser.

In the UK he also serves as an Executive Officer of the Fire Sector Federation.


Tom van EsbroeckTom van Esbroeck, collaborator in projects (from 2019, for one year)


Mr Esbroeck is also the Chairperson of the CTIF Commission for Extrication and new Technology and involved in several projects concerning ISO standardization for firefighters.


Björn Ulfsson, Communications Officer of CTIFBjörn Ulfsson, Communications Coordinator for CTIF and Website Content Manager since 2017

Sweden / Canada

Swedish Civil Contingencies Agency ( 2008 - 2014.

Mr Ulfsson has an extensive background in producing educational material for firefighters.

(Mr Ulfsson is not a voting member of the EC, but coordinates its online meetings and assists the President, the Secretary General and the Secretary in recording Minutes and preparing agendas.)


Report from Delegate´s Assembly 2019:

Roman Sykora, General Secretary of the CTIF Executive Board as of July 19, 2019At Delegate´s Assembly in Martigny 2019, Roman Sykora (Austria), chair of the CTIF HazMat Commission, was  been elected new General Secretary of the CTIF Executive Committee. Mr Sykora replaces Michel Bour who has now served his full two terms.



The new vice presidents are:

  • Hartmut Ziebs (Germany)
  • Bérczi László (Hungary)

Re-elected as vice presidents were:

  • Milan Dubravac (Slovenia)
  • Ole Hansen (Norway)
  • Zdenek Nytra (Czech Republic)


Dennis Davis (UK) continues his role as Special Project Adviser for the Executive Board, appointed by the President.

Tom Van Esbroeck (Belgium) was appointed by the President as Project Coordinator for the ISO 17840 Standardization Process and the Hydrogen Responder Project.


CTIF Flags


The following will be ending their functions:

Ante Sanader as Vice President


Michel Bour as General Secretary.

Vice president Don Bliss (USA) is also ending his term, due to retirement from the NFPA.


The New Executive Board of the CTIF as of July 19, 2019

The New CTIF Executive Committee, as elected (or continuing their terms) on July 19, 2019.


Roman Sykora at the CTIF Delegates Assembly, 2019, minutes after being elected new general secretary of the CTIF Executive Comittee.

Roman Sykora at the CTIF Delegates Assembly, 2019, minutes after being elected new general secretary of the CTIF Executive Comittee.


General Information: 

The CTIF Executive Committee meets physically at least twice a year to follow up CTIF actions, projects and the work of CTIF commissions and to prepare proposals to be submitted to the Delegates’ Assembly. As of 2019, the EC has also started meeting twice per month online through video conferencing.

CTIF Delegates’ Assembly decides on the main policies, actions and projects to be carried out by CTIF, and is responsible for electing the members of the Executive Committee every four years (President, General Secretary, Treasurer and Vice-Presidents). The Assembly is organised once a year by one of the CTIF member nations, usually in September.

Once per year, all members are invited to participate in Delegates´Assembly. This is the large Democratic Body of CTIF. Every four years, key positions are nominated and the members vote for their chosen candidate. The President and his or her Board of Directors are often re-elected for up to two four-year terms.

Read more about the Governance and Mission of CTIF

For a partial contact List of Commission Chairs and other key CTIF Officers outside of the Executive Committee, click here